The Coffee Snob returns?

Posted: April 7, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Let me share one thing right off, I'm a recovering Coffee Snob.  My brother David (there are 6 siblings all together) thinks he has this title in our family with his French press, but that's only because I stopped drinking coffee with any regularity circa '98.  I had a problem.  Admittedly, it was mostly for the caffeine back then.  But I can still recall vividly making POTS of coffee back to back with POTS of espresso in undergrad.  It wasn't until Chiropractic school in about 2003 that I realized I had Adrenal fatigue, which really never has been corrected until recently, albeit slowly. But back then, I only had the best coffee I could make (only very upscale coffee shops would do if I didn't make it myself), and I quit drinking before I encountered a Starbucks or Carribou Coffee.   And the quitting of coffee included stopping ALL caffeine around '99 when I stopped supplementing with caffeinated/high energy products (I can't even remember the names of the weight loss products right now, & highly recommend you don't follow that path yourself!).

So why the return?  I was listening to a podcast from Paleohacks.com while driving to my satellite clinic in Arthur, IL yesterday. While the audio quality wasn't the best for a podcast (it's his first), the content of the talk was fascinating!!  Dave Aspery was the guest, discussing his Better Baby Book on how to have a heatlhy & super smart baby, as well as his various hacks and upgrades for his body, and mentioned Bulletproof Coffee.  And all too often with these health podcasts, they're a lot of hype or selling a product, but Dave gives you the information for free in the hopes that it will truly benefit you.  For someone like myself, I had  almost all of these ingredients in my kitchen (some old organic coffee worked for my trial run).  And it turned out to be a wonderful cup of coffee!  

I've long been a fan of pastured butter (butter from grass fed cows).  My wife & I were buying bread for this stuff to act as a delivery vessel when we said "Enough!" to the bread and said our delivery vessel can be a spoon!!  We use it for cooking everything (she has trouble being around coconut oil when I cook with it), and it costs about the same as coconut oil anyway.  If you're not eating with it already, I highly reccommend it.  And of course, I still have some coconut oil around for myself.  So sans Dave's coffee beans, I was ready to go.  Make your coffee (I will be moving to a French press in the future, ala my brother David), and throw it in a blender with 1-2 tablespoons of the butter & 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil or MCT (medium chain triglycerides) oil, and enjoy.  Very easy.  In fact, I took more time this morning cleaning out my old coffee maker than I did blending & drinking the coffee!! 

Yes, I'm rambling now.  The caffeinne is in full effect.  This is why I stopped drinking coffee or anything caffeinated for almost 15 years!!  But I'm curious about the various health benefits, the fullness of the healthy fats for my day (I'll still have some protein yet this morning), and Dave Aspery shares that most people lose about 1 pound a day on this program, something that I've been working on lately. And the benefits of healthy fats is really key to most people's dietery health.  In fact, a great diet is only second in your health needs to Upper Cervical Care.  

So try out this recipe.  You won't need sugar or cream, and this is from someone who preferred his sugar with a little bit of coffee.  Yes, you read that right.  Some people add some protein, but I find that unneccary, and recommend it be seperate (depending on the heat of your coffee, it may break down your protein in an unhealthy whey).  Sorry about the bad pun.  

As I proof-read my post, I apologize to my grammar Nazi's out there.  I'll work on my writing style, but one must start somewhere. I will remind everyone that my strengths have always been more to analytical thinking, and less to writing, so be kind if you must critique.  Keep an eye out here for updates on the coffee, the weight loss, and other things related to Upper Cervical, as I'm going to be making this blog a more regular part of my program.  If for nothing else but to share my thots with the Internet!!

Comments
  1. I really like reading through a post that can make men
    and women think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to
    comment!

  2. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this matter here on your internet site.

    • schurger says:

      My pleasure! I’ll be updating my experience shortly. I’ve had some good experiences lately, and will share…just as soon as I have a little more time to write it up properly!!

Leave a Reply

